Visa Waiver Program


Individuals from certain countries are able to travel to the United States for tourism or business for stays of 90 days or less without obtaining a visa. A list of Visa Waiver Program Designated Countries and more information on the Visa Waiver Program can be found here:

Visa Waiver Program

In order to travel without a visa on the Visa Waiver Program, a citizen of a Visa Waiver Program Designated Country must have authorization through the Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA) prior to boarding a U.S. bound air or sea carrier. ESTA is a web-based system operated by U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) to determine eligibility to travel under the VWP to the United States for tourism or business. Visit the  ESTA webpage on the CBP website for more information.

What if I am traveling to Guam or the Northern Mariana Islands?

Citizens of Australia, Brunei, Hong Kong, Japan, Malaysia, Nauru, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, South Korea, Singapore, Taiwan and the United Kingdom do not need a visa or ESTA to visit both Guam and the Northern Mariana Islands because of the Guam-CNMI Visa Waiver Program, though they must complete Form I-736 prior to travel.  Chinese citizens also do not need a visa if they complete Form I-736 for temporary admission into the Northern Mariana Islands. For more information on the Guam-CNMI Visa Waiver Program, click here.