Press Releases: Religious Freedom Designations

Press Statement
Michael R. Pompeo
Secretary of State
Washington, DC

December 11, 2018

On November 28, 2018, I designated Burma, China, Eritrea, Iran, North Korea, Pakistan, Sudan, Saudi Arabia, Tajikistan, and Turkmenistan, as Countries of Particular Concern under the International Religious Freedom Act of 1998 for having engaged in or tolerated ”systematic, ongoing, [and] egregious violations of religious freedom.” I also placed Comoros, Russia, and Uzbekistan on a Special Watch List for governments that have engaged in or tolerated “severe violations of religious freedom.” Finally, I designated al-Nusra Front, al-Qa’ida in the Arabian Peninsula, al-Qa’ida, al-Shabab, Boko Haram, the Houthis, ISIS, ISIS-Khorasan, and the Taliban as Entities of Particular Concern.

In far too many places across the globe, individuals continue to face harassment, arrests, or even death for simply living their lives in accordance with their beliefs. The United States will not stand by as spectators in the face of such oppression. Protecting and promoting international religious freedom is a top foreign policy priority of the Trump Administration. In July, I hosted the first-ever Ministerial to Advance Religious Freedom, which brought together some 85 likeminded governments and more than 400 civil society organizations to harness global attention and motivate forceful action to advance respect for the human right of religious freedom.

Safeguarding religious freedom is vital to ensuring peace, stability, and prosperity. These designations are aimed at improving the lives of individuals and the broader success of their societies. I recognize that several designated countries are working to improve their respect for religious freedom; I welcome such initiatives and look forward to continuing the dialogue.

The United States remains committed to working with governments, civil society organizations, and religious leaders to advance religious freedom around the world.







2018年11月28日,依照1998年《国际宗教自由法》(International Religious Freedom Act),我将缅甸、中国、厄立特里亚、伊朗、北韩、巴基斯坦、苏丹、沙特阿拉伯、塔吉克斯坦和土库曼斯坦列为“特别关注国”(Countries of Particular Concern),因为他们进行或容忍“系统性的、持续的、[以及]极为恶劣的侵犯宗教自由的行为”。我还将科摩罗、俄罗斯和乌兹别克斯坦列入“特别观察名单”(Special Watch List),该名单上的政府进行或容忍“严重侵犯宗教自由的行为”。最后,我将努斯拉阵线(al-Nusra Front)、阿拉伯半岛基地组织(al-Qa’ida in the Arabian Peninsula)、基地组织(al-Qa’ida)、青年党(al-Shabab)、博科圣地组织(Boko Haram)、胡塞武装组织(Houthis)、伊斯兰国组织(ISIS)、伊斯兰国-呼罗珊组织(ISIS-Khorasan)以及塔利班( Taliban)定为 “特别关注实体”(Entities of Particular Concern)。

在全球各地太多的地方,人们仅仅因为他们遵循自己的信仰生活而继续面临骚扰、拘捕甚至死亡。美国面对这种镇压绝不会袖手旁观。捍卫及提倡国际宗教自由是特朗普政府的一项首要外交政策重点。7月份,我主持了有史以来的第一次促进宗教自由部长级会议(Ministerial to Advance Religious Freedom),让大约85个志同道合的政府以及400多个公民社会组织共聚一堂,利用全球的关注并促成有力的行动,以增进对宗教自由的人类权利的尊重。